26 Congress leaders joined BJP in Himachal

Before the elections in Himachal, 26 Congress leaders joined BJP

Now the counting days are left in the Himachal Pradesh elections, but just before the election, the BJP has given a blow to the main opposition party of the state, Congress.

The Congress suffered a setback when 26 of its leaders left the party to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the assembly elections.

Former state Congress general secretary Dharampal Thakur Khand is also among the leaders who changed the party. Most of the leaders who switched sides belong to the Shimla constituency, from where the party has fielded Sanjay Sood.

The leaders who left the Congress had allegiance to Harsh Mahajan, who left the old party and joined the saffron party on 28 September. He had argued that the previous party was directionless and lacking vision.

Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur extended a warm welcome to all those who joined the BJP and said, “Let us work together for the historic victory of the party.” Himachal will go to the polls on November 12 and the counting of votes will take place on December 8.

After the Congress leaders left the party and joined the BJP, Himachal unit tweeted from its Twitter handle that due to the repressive policies of the Congress, former office-bearers and workers of Shimla’s Congress party left the Congress party and joined the BJP. National Vice President and Chief Minister and Harsh Mahajan ji welcomed him by wearing a patka.

Read more latest news on Newsreaders
Download the News Readers App

Mak Dell Indian journalist is news publisher from desktop. Please contact or whatsapp +91-9198-624-866 for any issues. Our head office is in Gomtinagar, Lucknow (UP) India.

scroll to top