Other StatesPolitics

Karnataka election: 247 candidates submit 279 nomination papers for 28 constituencies of Bengaluru

In the 28 Assembly constituencies of Bengaluru, 279 nominations were received from 247 candidates on the last day of filing the nomination on Thursday for the Karnataka Assembly election.

There were 215 male and 32 female candidates who filed the nominations on Thursday from BJP, Congress, AAP, BSP, CIPM, JD(S) and from registered unrecognized parties and Independents.

The Election Commission will scrutinize the nominations on Friday and the last day for the withdrawal of candidates is April 24th.

Some of the familiar faces in Karnataka political circle are contesting the election from Bengaluru. From BJP, Dr. C.N Aswath Narayana, R Ashoka, S Suresh Kumar, Munirathna Naidu and M Krishnappa and from Congress Ramalingareddy, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Krishna Byre Gowda, K J George, Rizwan Arshad and Zameer Ahmed Khan are the prominent faces fighting the election.

The sitting Congress MLA from Pulakeshinagar, Akhanda Srinivas Murthy who had won the seat with a margin of over 81,000 has filed his nomination as an Independent candidate this time after the party denied him the ticket.

A little bit of Tamilnadu politics is also seen in the Bengaluru assembly election. Former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and AIADMK General Secretary E Palaniswami have declared their separate candidates for the Pulakeshinagar seat, which has a sizable Tamil population. Out of 28 seats, BJP has sitting MLAs in 15, Congress in 12 and JD(S) in one seat.
Source link

Read more latest news on Newsreaders
Download the News Readers App

Read Full News > Click Here

Related News

Adblock Detected

Please switch off Adblocker first.